Advertisements ad

March 15, 2009

New school board set up

Cardinal George announced the establishment of the Archdiocese of Chicago Board of Catholic Schools on March 9. As a governing body, the board will foster and promote the ministry of archdiocesan Catholic elementary and high schools as part of the archdiocese’s educational mission.

The board will be responsible for the operations of Catholic schools, except where the responsibilities of pastors take precedent under the current Code of Canon Law. Areas the board will oversee include Catholic identity, finance, institutional advancement and planning.

Archdiocese of Chicago Board of Catholic Schools members are: Cardinal George, board president; John Croghan, chairman, Rail-Splitter Capital Management, LLC; board chair; Father John Canary, vicar general, Archdiocese of Chicago; Father Lawrence Dowling, pastor, St. Agatha Parish; Dennis FitzSimons, chairman, Mc- Cormick Foundation; Jesuit Father Michael Garanzini, president, Loyola University Chicago; Patrick Hackett, president, HHS Company; Joshua Hale, Executive Director, Big Shoulders Fund; Vincentian Father Dennis Holtschneider, president, DePaul University; Ambassador James Kenny, executive vice president, Kenny Construction and president, Kenny Management Services; Harry Kraemer, executive partner, Madison Dearborn Partners; Jimmy Lago, chancellor, Archdiocese of Chicago; Pedro Martinez, chief financial officer, Chicago Public Schools; Dominican Sister Mary Paul McCaughey, superintendent of Catholic schools; Father John McDonnell, pastor, St. Mary Star of the Sea Parish, Chicago; Andrew McKenna Jr., president, Schwarz Supply Source; Michael Mooney, vice president, Goldman Sachs; Ellen Mulaney, clinical assistant professor of law, Northwestern University Law School; James Perry, managing director, Madison Dearborn Partners; Father John Pollard, pastor, St. Joseph Parish, Wilmette; Raul Raymundo, chief executive officer, The Resurrection Project; Holy Cross Father Timothy R. Scully, director, Institute for Educational Initiatives, University of Notre Dame; Cheryl Thomas, president and chief executive officer, Ardmore Associates; Father John Wall, president, Catholic Church Extension Society; Edward Wehmer, Chairman, Wintrust Financial Corporation